We know that privacy is a concern for you – and rightly so! We also know that Facebook’s privacy settings aren’t the easiest to navigate. So following discussion within the Major Somnolence Disorder group we wanted to provide you with a brief guide to the privacy settings relevant to the group.
We are a ‘Closed’ group
- Posts and comments made within the group are only ever visible to other members. This can be confusing as group activity can sometimes appear in your news feed and real-time ticker, but again this is only visible to other members.
- New members have to be approved by one of the admin team.
- Non-members can access the members list when they visit the group page. But of course they would have to find it first.
What we recommend
- When you first find the group you may be tempted to invite family and friends to join. Consider this very carefully as, while they are welcome in the group, this of course means they will be able to see all your posts and comments. This can cause particular difficulty in the future if you need to discuss challenges that involve them.
- Familiarise yourself with Facebook’s Activity Log. This is where you can see all of your activity on Facebook. From here you can delete or modify privacy settings for individual posts, comments, actions etc.
Hovering your cursor over an icon by a comment or action shows who can see that post. Clicking on the ‘pencil’ icon allows you to delete posts/comments within the group without having to find them first. Remember that “Allowed on timeline” still means it is only visible to those it is shared with (e.g. Members of Major Somnolence Disorder).
- Another useful tool is View As. Clicking that shows your profile in the way it is seen by anyone and includes things that are set to Public. You can also view your profile as a particular friend.
- Check whether the groups section is visible on your profile. Only ‘Open’ groups are listed in the groups section, but you probably want to remove this section entirely. Facebook seems to have limited this to either on or off (i.e. you can’t set it to be just visible to Friends).
- The only grey area seems to be when joining a ‘Closed’ group. Which Facebook seems to state can be seen by non-members this doesn’t appear to be the case. Check your Activity Log under Groups > Membership Activity.
Having said all that…
The only fool-proof way to ensure your privacy is to create a separate Facebook account under a false name and remember to log out. In particular this may be the best option if you are looking for work as some employers have been known to require access to your Facebook account during the hiring process. You will want to make sure that people can not find this account by searching for your email or phone number by setting these to Friends.
Whichever way you decide to protect your privacy, please bear in mind that Facebook’s Privacy Settings are subject to change. The information provided here is accurate to the best of our knowledge as of November 2013.
Facebook’s Help Pages